Hello All,

So you may or may not know this, but I have two new cookbooks in my library. One is very old, as in it’s the 1946 edition of The Joy of Cooking by Irma S. Rombauer, and the other is relatively new to me, The Ultimate Rice Cooker Cookbook by Beth Hensperger and Julie Kaufmann.
Anyway, I’m super excited to start using both of these cookbooks, and hopefully I can share my feats with you. I also have another rice cooker cookbook on the way, so we’ll touch on that soon.
I have this delicious recipe for rice pilaf (or my version of it). Tania originally made it for me, and it was the dish that helped me to eventually love dill. Dill is my favorite herb, and I use it as often as possible. One would think that Paprika is my favorite spice, but it isn’t, I just use it a lot as well. This recipe is great for two reasons, the first being that you can use any rice you like, and it can be leftover plain rice from chinese takeout, or even saffron rice from middle eastern take out.. whatever your fancy, the second being that there are no measurments, and you just add ingredients to your liking.
Pilaf is generally the definition for rice or other grains that are cooked in oil (or butter) and then cooked in broth, and depending on the cuisine is sometimes filled with meats or vegetables. You can buy pilaf in a box and cook it on your stovetop from companies like Near East, and they generally turn out quite well, but sometimes the same old thing can get pretty boring, and since I’m currently learning all about cooking in my rice cooker, I thought I would do so today.
Instead of calling it a Rice Pilaf, I like to call it a Spice Pilaf. I’m going to write out the recipe that I am currently doing, in my rice cooker, right now, and then I’m going to tell you how to do it in a frying pan with leftover rice (or how to do it in a pan after cooking plain rice in a rice cooker).
Dorm Room Spiced Pilaf

(These measurements are rough estimates, with the exception of the rice)
2 cups of jasmine rice
1/2 cup frozen petite peas
3/4 Tablespoon Garlic Powder
1/2 Tablespoon Dill Weed (dried, if fresh add more)
1/4 Tablespoon Paprika (for a bit of color, and a kick)
1 Tablespoon Butter
Water
Rice Cooker
Measure out your rice, and then in a 1:1 ratio, add water, in most rice cookers there is a line for each cup of rice you put in. Before turning on the rice cooker, add the spices. These will soak into the top layer of the rice (or you can stir them in beforehand).
Turn on your rice cooker, and let the magic happen. Add the peas when your rice cooker begins to steam, you can just quickly throw them on top, because you don’t want the top to be off of the rice cooker for too long, and everything will be mixed in later. If you like mushy peas, you can add the peas in before turning on the rice cooker, and mix them in with the dried grains.
Once the cooker turns itself off, or switches to the “keep” mode, add the butter and mix well.
Your pilaf is done… how easy was that?
On a Stovetop with leftovers (GET CREATIVE)!
Butter
Rice
Peas
Dill
Garlic Powder (or fresh minced garlic)
Paprika
Melt the butter in your frying pan on a medium-high heat, and then add the rice, break it up and make sure it is well-coated, you don’t want it to be too buttery, or else you loose the spice flavors. If your rice is dry, add a little water or a little broth to moisten it, adding more butter will not do the trick.
Add the spices, as much or as little as you would like and stir them in well with the rice, then add the peas (after soaking them briefly in hot water, and draining them well), and mix it all up. You can also add chopped fresh parsley to this, and it goes well with almost any cuisine! Enjoy.
I hope you’ll try this recipe. It is incredibly easy, has a ton of flavor, and can be made in large batches to serve several people, or last several days.
Love and Happy Spatulas,
Alyssa

