Hello Everyone!

Today was the kind of day where everything came together for the rest of the week. I figured out what I have to do, and how much time I have to do everything, and in celebration I decided that I should get to work right away, which means not going up the hill to dinner.
Instead I stopped by our little “Tea Shop” on campus and picked up a bagel in hopes of making a sandwich, but the chicken salad I made is too good for the bagel, so I guess I’ll have breakfast in the morning.
Curried Apple Chicken Salad with Dates

1 Can White Meat Chicken in Water
1 Fuji Apple
1-2 Medjool Dates or 1/4 cup golden raisins (or normal raisins if you prefer)
1- 1 1/2 Tablespoon Light Mayonaise
1/2 Tablespoon Pickle Relish
1/2 teaspoon Garlic Powder
1 1/2 teaspoons Paprika
1 teaspoon Yellow Curry Powder (I know that Curry Powder isn’t used in Indian cooking, but I really love to have it in the kitchen. I use it in my eggs, and of course my chicken salads!)
I whipped this together in less than 5 minutes. There is no cooking involved, and the only things you have to chop is an apple and a date or two.
Start by opening and draining your can of chicken, you want to get as much of the liquid out, because the salad tastes better with newer flavors. Plus you need to see how much chicken there is in the can, that will tell you how much of the other ingredients you need. I used a 12.5 oz can, which looks like enough for three or four sandwiches (depending on how much salad you like, and how big your bread is).
Most fuji apples are delicious, however there is the occasional bitter apple, so it’s good to test a small slice of your apple to make sure it’s sweet. If you prefer another apple, use that kind, any apple will go with this salad, with maybe the exception of a red delicious. I just peeled my apple (the skin was a little waxy) and then diced it up and put it in a bowl with the drained chicken. Some of the chicken is usually stuck together in large chunks, but they can easily be broken up with a fork.
After that add all of the ingredients except for the dates or raisins. Mix together the mayo, spices and relish with the chicken and apples. It may not seem like a lot of Mayo, but in this case a little goes a long way. Once all the ingredients are mixed together, roughly chop your dates, and add them to the mixture.
Eat the salad on bread with lettuce, in lettuce or just on it’s own.
Love and Happy Spatulas!
Alyssa
