Still craving Middle Eastern flavors after my recent trip to Egypt, I decided to throw together a few dishes for dinner tonight. I don’t have any recipes – there are plenty on the Internet. I just seasoned them to taste and met my goal by using apricots and dates.

Couscous is so easy to make, just boil 1 cup of water or broth in a small saucepan with a little olive oil and salt. Take the pan off of the stove and add 1 cup of couscous. Cover and let it sit for five minutes, then fluff with a fork. I seasoned mine with a little cinnamon and added in three chopped dates. Most recipes call for chopped onion and garlic, but I omitted them due to my personal dietary restrictions.
I cut 1 pound of chicken tenders into chunks and cooked them in some broth. I added whole, dried apricots, cumin, dry mustard, 1 tablespoon apricot jam and cinnamon. Everything cooked up quickly. Some recipes call for sugar, onion and garlic. The jam thickened the chicken sauce, which was nice over the dry couscous.
Happy Cooking!
Peggy
P.S. I sent Alyssa a care package of cookies — chocolate chunk and oatmeal chocolate chip. It’s getting to the busy time of the semester when everything is due at once.
