I love eggplant! Anytime I see a dish in a restaurant with eggplant in it, it’s almost a sure bet that I will order it. I found this recipe for a stir-fried eggplant with tofu in myrecipes.com. One problem with frying eggplant is its need for lots of oil. The recipe calls for three tablespoons of oil, but I used only one tablespoon of oil and about a half cup of beef broth (you can also use vegetable broth, or chicken broth). I also used only about one tablespoon of sugar instead of two. After I cut-up the eggplant I put it in a large bowl and added salt. After stirring the eggplant around I filled the bowl with water, let it sit for a few minutes and then drained the water out. This is a quick-method for drawing out some of the eggplant’s bitterness. You can also salt the pieces, let them sit and then pat the pieces with a paper towel.


3 T. vegetable oil (or less if you use broth)
1 package firm tofu, drained, cut into 1 1/2 by 2 inch chunks
2 cloves garlic, minced
1 pound eggplant, cut into 1 by 3 inch strips
1 small red or green pepper, cut into 1 inch pieces
1/3 cup reduced sodium soy sauce
2 T sugar (or less)
2 T oyster sauce
1/4 cup fresh basil leaves

Heat 1 T oil and/or 2-3 T broth in a wok or large pan. A non-stick wok or pan is nice because you can use less oil. Add tofu and cook over high heat. Be gentle so you don’t crumble up the tofu. Cook until browned slightly. It takes longer to brown in broth. Use a slotted spoon and transfer to a dish.


Cook garlic, eggplant and bell pepper in oil or broth until tender. Stir occasionally for about 8-10 minutes. Mix soy sauce, oyster sauce and sugar (can reduce to 1 T). Add sauce to mixture and cook another 2 minutes. Add tofu and stir in gently. Remove from heat and stir in basil leaves. I chopped mine up a bit. Can be served over rice.

This dish tasted quite authentic and was easy — maybe a half-hour to prepare.

Happy Cooking!

Peggy

