Roasted Pork Loin


I bought a pork loin at the store and went in search of a recipe. After looking through all of our recipes I decided to look on the Internet and selected this one because it was simple and used rosemary, which I have growing in the garden. The recipe is from allrecipes.com


3 cloves garlic, minced
1 T rosemary minced
salt and pepper
2 pounds boneless pork roast
1/4 c. olive oil
1/2 c. white wine

Heat oven to 350°

Crush garlic, rosemary and salt and pepper into a paste. Cut slits into pork loin and press the paste into the openings. Add olive oil to remaining paste and rub pork loin with mixture. Place on roasting pan and cook in oven for about 2 hours, basting and turning. Remove roast from pan. Add wine to pan, heat and stir to loosen the browned bits at the bottom of the pan. This is de-glazing. I think I’m finally getting the hang of it and learning to stop fearing all those crusty bits at the bottom of my pan. Instead, with a little wine, it can make a delicious and quick sauce. Slice the pork and drizzle sauce over the cut pieces.

Farro

After reading several recipes on the Internet I decided to soak the farro overnight and cook it in my rice cooker. The proportion is 1 cup farro to 3 cups water. My farro was from Italy, but there were no instructions on the package. This is a sturdy grain which tastes a bit nutty and chewy when cooked. I added a bit of cumin before cooking and garnished it with parsley, but it tasted rather plain. The rice cooker seemed to cook on and on, so I finally took a peek after about 45 minutes. All of the water was gone and the bottom was beginning to burn, so I stopped the cooking. There are stovetop recipes available and lots of recipes for pilafs and salads, which would have been more interesting, but not what I was looking for that night. I had a little leftover farro and added it to a salad.

I added some steamed asparagus spears to the plate. My husband and son (who was home to have dinner with us) enjoyed the meal. Alyssa doesn’t eat pork, so it’s a good thing she was away at college for this meal.

