I absolutely LOVE eggplant and grilling it on my kitchen griller uses less oil than frying. This recipe caught my eye in Sunset magazine and I decided to give it a try, making a few adjustments, as usual.


Tahini-Yogurt Dressing
1 T. minced garlic
3 T. fresh lemon juice
1 c. plain low-fat Greek yogurt – I used non-fat
1/4 c. tahini (sesame paste)
1 T. kosher salt – I used more like 1 t.

1 lb. eggplant, sliced into 1/2 inch rounds
2 large tomatoes, thickly sliced
olive oil
4 pieces naan bread or flatbred
2-3 cups baby spinach loose, not packed (I added some basil because my plant is alive)

If you are using a large eggplant, rather than the smaller japanese eggplant, peel some of the skin away. Place eggplant slices in a colander and sprinkle with salt. Let it sit for about one hour. This purges the eggplant of its bitterness. Rinse the eggplant to remove the salt and squeeze the pieces, a few at a time to squeeze out the moisture. Pat the slices dry.

Brush the eggplant slices lightly with oil. Cook until they are tender and creamy. Brush the tomato slices with oil and grill carefully. Warm bread in oven or on grill.

Lay out piece of bread and top with spinach, slices of eggplant and tomato. Spoon on the dressing. Fold or wrap and enjoy!

Happy Cooking!

Peggy


