2 boned and skinned chicken breasts

1/2 cup plain yogurt
1/2 t. ground cumin
1/2 t. lemon juice
1/4 t. salt
1/8 t. red chile flakes
1/8 t. ground turmeric
vegetable oil
for salad: cucumber, radish, plain yogurt, salt and white pepper
Prepare hot grill or barbecue at hight heat. The recipe calls for pounding the chicken to 1/4 inch, but I sliced it thin and didn’t have much luck pounding it with a rolling pin between two sheets of waxed paper. I have a metal mallet which I have used before, but it just destroyed the chicken, so I thought I’d try the rolling pin suggested in the recipe. Oh well. Mix yogurt, cumin, lemon juice, salt, chile flakes and turmeric and coat pieces of chicken. Let it sit for 10 minutes. Wipe off excess marinade and rub lightly with oil on both sides. Oil grill with some vegetable oil on a paper towel.
I made a little cucumber, radish, dill and yogurt salad to serve with the chicken, assuming it would be a little dry. I chopped up 1 persian cucumber and 1 radish along with some chopped dill and enough plain yogurt to coat the ingredients. You can add salt, black pepper shallots and mint, but I just added a bit of salt and white pepper.
I had some leftover cooked red quinoa and found a recipe that dressed up quinoa with toasted pine nuts, garlic, parsley and raisins which I cooked in a little olive oil and added to the already cooked quinoa and added a little salt and pepper.
Cook the chicken about three minutes on each side. Serve chicken with a spoonful of the cucumber salad.
Happy Cooking!
Peggy
