Looking for a brunch recipe for Mother’s Day I found a few nice egg frittatas and took ideas from two recipes to make a yummy mushroom egg bake.

Serves 8
One of the recipes used a combination of egg whites and eggs, so I used 1 c. of egg whites and 8 eggs. I also used 50-50 butter and both light and regular harvarti cheese in my attempt to lighten-up the frittata. One recipe called for oyster or morel mushrooms and the other a package of exotic mushroom blend. I used mostly crimini, but also some oyster and some maitake (which cost $29.99 a pound at Whole Foods – fortunately I only bought $1.80 worth. The wild mushrooms gave the frittata a woodsy taste, but I’m glad I used mostly crimini or the dish might have been too much like a forest. I’m also glad that I toned down the fat a bit as the frittata was rich enough.
4 T. butter
1 lb. mushrooms – mixed
8 oz. shredded havarti or jack cheese
1 oz. shredded pecorino or parmigiano-reggiano cheese
1 c. whipping cream
1 t. dry mustard
2 t. fresh thyme, minced
1/2 t. salt
1/2 t. pepper
12 eggs, lightly beaten
Pre-heat oven to 325°. Coat casserole dish with cooking spray.
Clean and slice the mushrooms. Melt the butter in a large skillet. Cook for five minutes over high heat until lightly browned.
Sprinkle the cheese on the bottom of the dish. The baked cheese creates a nice crust.
In a small bowl mix together the cream, thyme, mustard, salt and pepper.
Pour half of the cream mixture over the cheese. Top with eggs and mushrooms. Pour the remaining cream mixture over the top. This layering makes the dish creamy.
Bake until the eggs are set, about 55-60 minutes. The top should be golden brown. Stick a knife in the center of the frittata to make sure the eggs aren’t runny or too loose.
Happy Cooking!
Peggy


