I so enjoyed learning about quince and eating the delicious fruit Alyssa cooked with her Aunt Tania. We just got some more quince from Tania and Alyssa mentioned that I could microwave it without any sugar and use it as a savory fruit with meat. I looked on the Internet for recipes, but couldn’t find any. I decided to just go for it.

quince
water
Peel and core the quince, cut them into wedges and place them in a pyrex dish with enough water to cover the bottom of the dish. Microwave covered on high for 8-10 minutes. I used only two quince and my dish was on the small size. Quince creates a gelatin-like liquid, which splattered all over my microwave, so I’d suggest using a large dish, even for a few fruits. Ten minutes of cooking time was probably too much. Try eight and see if it is enough. The quince was delicious, even without sugar and we enjoyed it with our dinner.
Right now I’m making Alyssa’s quince recipe, although I cut the sugar in half. I’ve boiled it three times, but it’s not red yet. Maybe I have to boil it longer. It seems sweet even with less sugar.
Happy Cooking!
Peggy
