Hello Lovely Readers,

The New York Times recently had a recipe contest where readers were asked to submit their favorite potluck recipes. I have mixed feelings about potlucks, because it’s hard pressure to make something that you think everyone will eat. They had an array of recipes posted at the end of the contest, which I think is great, but not all of them are 100% perfect. Here are the recipes that they chose, some beautiful food photography, and delicious anticipatory food combinations.
When looking through the recipes, there were a few that caught my eye to want to make, but one in particular had my mouth watering, the Sesame Noodles submitted by Veronica from Newport Beach. She said she found the recipe on Foodgawker, and adapted it to her tastebuds. This is what I love about sharing recipes, especially flexible ones, everyone can adapt it to what they have in their pantry, or what they would like to add to it for themselves. I think it’s a beautiful thing, and I wish a requirement of potlucks was to include recipe cards.
So to my version of the recipe is the following, because there are certain things I like, and certain things I had at the time, and it turned out tasting delicious.
Spicy Sesame Noodles

10 oz Noodles,
->I used “Chinese Noodles” they were kind of like soba noodles, but you can use whole wheat or regular angel hair, or any dry asian noodles that you prefer. I don’t think Ramen packages will work for this recipe.
2 1/2 Tablespoons Soy Sauce
1 Tablespoon Sesame Oil
1 Tablespoon Rice Vinegar, I used Seasoned Rice Vinegar
1 teaspoon Sriracha
1 teaspoon Sesame Seeds
2 Garlic Cloves, Minced
1 Shallot, Minced
1 teaspoon Ginger, Grated
1 Small Red Bell Pepper, Diced
2 Green Onions, Thinly Sliced
Any vegetables of your choice:
I used Water Chestnuts and Baby Corn because I had both of those, but I would have also added Sugar Snap Peas and Carrots
You can also use protein, turkey or chicken cut into strips and cooked beforehand, or tofu strips if you’re a vegetarian
Vegetable Oil
Follow the package instructions to cook your noodles, and when they are done, drain them and run them under cold water. In a small bowl, mix the soy sauce, sesame oil, rice vinegar, sriracha (you can use less if you don’t like it spicy, but try and use at least 1/4 teaspoon), garlic and ginger. Once the noodles are drained out of the pot, heat some vegetable oil in the same pot (fewer dishes to clean!), and then add the shallots, green onions and bell peppers and cook for just a couple of minutes, then add any vegetables or meats that you would like, and heat with the first three ingredients. Then add the noodles and the sauce and mix everything together. Serve warm or chilled.
Love and Happy Spatulas,
Alyssa
