Even though I have three roommates, most nights I am left to cook for myself. This is something new for me. I am quite used to living with my parents (and my brother) and having enough food for four for dinner and two for lunch leftovers the next day. Sometimes this wasn’t the case, and we’ve definitely cleaned every pan before getting near full, but now I am mostly cooking for myself which is difficult.

The other day I went to the farmer’s market, something I love to do as often as possible, and I bought a bunch of Yellow Beets and a bunch of Red Beets. Usually (depending on the size of beets) the bunches come with three to four beets. Mine both had three beets in them. Six beets for $2.50, worthy of about three meals (with other ingredients), that’s a pretty good deal. I used two right off the bat (shared them with my boyfriend for dinner one night). Then, later, I roasted the other four for later use.
Tonight I felt like eating something pretty, the recipe that follows is below.
Beautiful Simple Beet Salad
2 Beets, 1 red and 1 gold
6-7 Chive Sprigs, sliced
1 Teaspoon fresh Dill, Minced
1-2 Tablespoons Goat Cheese
Optional
Balsamic Vinegar
Olive Oil
Follow roasting ingredients in our previous Tri-Color Beet Salad recipe. Slice beets (or dice them) and place them in a bowl. Sprinkle the chives and dill over the beets, and crumble as much or as little goat cheese as you like. If you would like, you may drizzle olive oil and balsamic vinegar over your salad. I ate mine dry this evening, and it was just delicious.
Love and Happy Spatulas,
Alyssa
