Last night my lovely roommate made a delicious Enchilada dinner for all of us, and some of our friends, so I decided to add my two cents with a couple of side dishes, the first of which is this delicious rice recipe which I invented. I’m so sorry about the day old photos. I swear I took one last night when it was cooking in the pot, but it didn’t show up on my upload this morning, so I took a couple snapshots of the leftovers (which are almost gone since two of us ate some for breakfast)!

Sage Spiced Rice
1 1/2 Tbsp Olive Oil
1 small shallot, chopped
2-3 garlic cloves, minced
1 Bay Leaf
1 tsp Dried basil
1 tsp Dried dill
2-3 tsp Paprika
2-3 tsp Turmeric
1 Russet Potato, Peeled and Diced
1 1/2 cups uncooked white rice
6 or 7 fresh sage leaves, chopped
2 pre-boiled ears of corn, de-cobbed
Water
Start by heating the oil in a small-medium sized saucepan. Begin to wilt the shallots in the oil, and then add the garlic and the potatoes. Sprinkle all of the spices over the potatoes, starting with a bay leaf on the side, and mix the potatoes and spices together so that the potatoes are covered and colorful (I really wish I had taken a photo of this step). Add the rice to the potatoes and toast it a little bit, then cover the ingredients in water and let cook, covered, on a low heat, for 30 minutes or so. When the water is gone, make sure the rice is cooked, if it isn’t, add more water (not all the way up, but just enough to cook it). If you do this step, add the corn, and sprinkle about a teaspoon of kosher salt over the corn before mixing it in the rice and potatoes. Also add the sage to the pot, then mix together and let cook until the rice is tender.
Easy and delicious!

Love and Happy Spatulas,
Alyssa
