Hi all,
So even though I dislike Halloween, I went to a pumpkin carving party last night, to be with friends and have a good time, and also carve pumpkins… and collect pumpkin seeds.
If there’s anything I like about Halloween, it’s eating roasted pumpkin seeds.
After scraping the seeds out of my pumpkin, I washed them and separated them from their pumpkin guck, and then let them dry overnight on a sheet pan.
The best thing about roasting pumpkin seeds is you can put whatever spices you want on them and you are more than likely to achieve the flavors you want.
I used the following:

1 tablespoon olive oil
1 teaspoon curry powder
1 teaspoon garlic powder
1 teaspoon kosher salt
I had roughly a cup and a quarter to a cup and a half of pumpkin seeds. Sprinkle your spices over the seeds, and drizzle the oil (you can use vegetable oil or melted butter if you would prefer), then coat the seeds in the spices and oil using your hands.
In an oven that has been preheated to 250º, place the coated seeds (on a baking sheet) for roughly 30 minutes to one hour, depending on your oven and how well you like the seeds to be cooked. Every ten to fifteen minutes, open the oven and toss the seeds around so that they do not burn to one place on the pan.
They should have a sort of dry feel to them when they are done.
Let cool and enjoy!
Love and Happy Spatulas,
Alyssa
