Pea shoots are one of our favorite Chinese vegetables and we are quite disappointed when they are not available at our local Chinese restaurant. I was surprised to see a package at Trader Joe’s the other day, so I decided to make my own. As is my usual custom, I scanned the Internet for recipes and combined a few simple ones.

Since pea shoots cook down to almost nothing, not unlike spinach, I decided to combine my pea shoots with snow peas to give the vegetable dish some heft.
For Two Servings:
4 Ounces Pea shoots
4 Ounces Snow peas
2 Tablespoons peanut or canola oil
1 Clove garlic, minced
2 Teaspoons rice wine or cooking sherry
1 Teaspoon soy sauce
Sugar
Salt
Sesame seeds
Rinse pea shoots and dry in a lettuce spinner or kitchen towel. String snow peas and slice in half, lengthwise. Ingredients in a Chinese dish should all be cut in the same shape, so I mimicked the long shape of the pea shoots with sliced snow peas.
Heat oil in wok. Add garlic and cook for about 15 seconds. Add the snow peas and cook for a few minutes. Add the pea shoots, rice wine and soy sauce. Cook for a few more minutes until pea shoots are wilted. A pair of tongs makes tossing easy.
If you like a little sweetness, or used cooking sherry, add a bit of sugar. Add a pinch of salt, if desired.
Serve and sprinkle a few sesame seeds on top.
