Today I am sick. This is really an unfortunate thing, but it’s timely since both of my roommates were just sick. Even though I feel like burying my head in the sand, the last thing I want to do is open up a can of chicken noodle soup and eat it. My problem with any pre-prepared soup in a can is that even though it may taste great, there’s always too much extra fat and sodium, and who needs it? So even though I’m not feeling well, I’m gonna give you a really basic MatzoBall Soup to make. It’s mostly basic because I use the box.

My mom always made this for us when we were sick, she even made it for my dad! If you’d like to add protein to the soup, you can boil chicken strips and add them in (You can put some fresh herbs in the water with the chicken to make them taste better). I didn’t feel like dealing with meat today, so I decided against that. If you’re a vegetarian, you can use vegetable broth, and if you’d like, I’m sure tofu would be great in this soup!
Matzo Balls
1 Box matzo ball mix (you’ll only need to use one package)
2 Eggs
2 Tablespoons Vegetable Oil
2 1/2 Quarts water
4 Quart pot
The box tells you basically everything you need to know. You mix together the eggs and oil, and then you add in one packet of the mbm. You refrigerate the mixture for 15 minutes, and boil your water in the meantime. With wet hands, you form the matzo balls into 1-inch rounds (one packet will usually produce 9-12 matzo balls). Drop them in the boiling water, cover, and simmer for 20 minutes.

The Rest
1/4 Package thin egg noodles (can be found in the Kosher section
4 Medium-sized carrots, or 1/4 bag of baby carrots
32 oz. Chicken Broth
1 sprig fresh rosemary
1 sprig fresh thyme
1 garlic clove.
cooking twine/string
Boil water for the egg noodles, and cook until al dente. Drain and set aside.
Peel the carrots, and then cut down into bite-sized pieces. You can cut them into coins or strips. I cut the whole carrot into thirds widthwise and then quarters lengthwise. Put your broth into a separate pot from the noodles and the matzo balls. Drop the carrots in the cold broth, and then turn on the heat, medium-low. Wash your rosemary and thyme sprigs, and then with an 8″ piece of string, tie the sprigs together. Drop your herb bundle into the broth while the carrots are cooking. Clean your garlic clove, and without cutting it, add it to the broth as well.

When the carrots are cooked, the matzo balls are tender, and the pasta is drained, you can put everything together. I start with a small nest of pasta on the bottom. Then I add my matzo balls, and then pour the carrots and broth on top.
If you’re serving it to someone else, feel free to add a tiny sprig of thyme for decoration, or you can sprinkle the soup with chopped up thyme leaves.
Enjoy, feel better, love and happy spatulas,
Alyssa
