Our son gave us a pink Himalayan Salt Plate for the holidays and told us that it is fantastic. His favorite grill so far was shrimp, so I decided to try it out. A very simple process ensued.

1 Pound peeled and deveined shrimp with tails left on
2 Teaspoons lemon-flavored olive oil
Pinch of your favorite salt
Heat salt plate according to instructions. If you don’t know what this is, you’ll have to look into it, but basically it’s a block of salt carved out of the Himalayas. I heated mine, low temperature at first, right on the gas burner. After about 10 minutes, I turned the heat up a bit until the block was sizzling hot.
Dry raw shrimp on paper towel. Place shrimp in a bowl, add oil and mix. I didn’t have a lemon, but had some wonderful lemon oil from DaVero in Sonoma.
Place shrimp on salt plate. You can skewer them if you wish. Turn after a few minutes.
When shrimp is pink on both sides, place on serving dish and sprinkle with a little salt. I used a Thai salt. I wish that I hadn’t added the salt until after tasting the shrimp so I could taste how the salt plate seasoned the shrimp. The shrimp was delicious. My husband said it was the best grilled shrimp he had in a long time.
I’m looking forward to future experiments with this fun plate. Easy to clean, just scrub with a brush and wipe with a damp cloth.
Happy Cooking!
Peggy
