Tonight I wanted to be a bit experimental and try some new flavors to hopefully please the palates of my parents.

I found this recipe online and I thought it was really interesting, sounded healthy enough, but also delicious, and I’m really excited to share it with all of you because it came out tasting great!

Thai Turkey Burgers with Broccoli Slaw

(Makes 8-9 Burgers)

3/4 cup Panko Breadcrumbs

1 Egg

1.4 lbs Ground turkey or chicken

1 Large carrot, shredded on the small side of a box grater

2 Cloves garlic, grated

1 Teaspoon grated ginger

1 Teaspoon sriracha

2 Tablespoons cilantro finely chopped

1 Shallot, finely chopped

1/2 Of a lime, zested

Juice of one lime

1 Teaspoon red curry powder, or thai red curry paste

Salt and Pepper

Combine all ingredients in a bowl and mix well with your clean hands. Form the patties, and try to make them all even. You can broil, pan-fry, griddle or barbecue these burgers. We barbecued them, because it’s summer and the charred bits taste good with the mellow turkey flavor. They cook for 8-12 minutes, but make sure they are cooked through before serving them because you should never serve raw poultry.

1 Bag broccoli slaw (we use the Trader Joe’s Kind)

10-15 Radishes, Chopped to look like the other elements of the slaw (we used our Cuisinart electric grater attachment)

1/4 Cup light mayonnaise

Juice of 1 lime

Bunch of cilantro (minus the two tablespoons you used in the burgers), Chopped finely

1 Tablespoon sriracha

1 Teaspoon sesame oil

Salt and Pepper

Combine all ingredients in a bowl and mix well. Cover with plastic wrap and let sit while the burgers are cooking. When the burgers are done, you can give your diners a choice of having the slaw plated on top of their burger, or served on the side (but the flavors go together quite well).
The flavors left a tingling sensation on my lips and my stomach was delighted. Even my mother, who is no longer the biggest fan of spicy food, was licking her lips with delight. I would make this recipe over and over again, and I’m so happy I have the forum to share it with you.

Love and Happy Spatulas,

Alyssa

