Sometimes in the world of food it is hard to be extremely unique unless, of course, you’re willing to get into Molecular Gastronomy. Tons of inspiration comes from eating at restaurants, watching chefs cook on television, and reading other people’s recipes. Of course, many things can be altered to make them appear as if you have created them yourself, but I like to credit other chefs when I “steal” from them. I am not really a fan of kale, but we got it in our Farm Box this week and so I decided to try this salad… which turned out to make the kale taste fantastically delicious.

 

 

Massaged Kale Salad

1 Head Kale

1 Heirloom Tomato (or other medium sized tomato)

6 Baby Carrots

1 Large Lemon (I use Meyer)

1 Teaspoon Kosher Salt

3-4 Tablespoons Olive Oil

2 Teaspoons Honey

1/2 Teaspoon Black Pepper

(Aarti puts mango, cilantro and toasted pepitas in her salad)

 

Begin by removing the thick stems from the washed pieces of kale. Once all of the stems are removed, cut the leaves into ribbons. This is easily done by rolling all the leaves together in a bunch “like a cigar.” Transfer the shredded kale to a bowl. Squeeze 1/2 of the lemon juice over the kale, add the salt and 1-2 tablespoons of olive oil. Then you begin to massage the kale. Rub it in your hands for about five minutes until it begins to emit a fruity fragrance and is wilted.


Dice your tomato and carrots and add to the kale. Make your dressing using the other half of the lemon (juice), honey, black pepper and as much olive oil as you’d like. Dress your salad and enjoy!

Aarti adds avocado to her salad, if I had an avocado, believe you me, I would add it in. My roommate has one, maybe she’ll share with me in a bit.

Love and Happy Spatulas,

Alyssa

