I know that curry powder is not truly an Indian spice, but it’s all of the flavors you want if you don’t have a place to buy curry leaves. Curry powder has (apparently) a history in our family. My mother says that my grandmother used to put it in everything. When I learned this, I decided to put curry powder in my eggs (many eons ago) and it stuck! I’ve somehow convinced many people that curried eggs are a fantastic treat for breakfast. The curry has made people who do not like eggs… love them! This is a recipe for one, but you can expand it any way you like.

Curried Zucchini Scramble

1 Medium – Small Zucchini, Sliced into thin half moons

1 Green Onion(Scallion), Cleaned and Sliced

3 Eggs

Splash of Milk (any kind you like, I use nonfat)

Handful of Fresh Dill (minced), you can also use Basil, Parsley and Chives we have Dill from our Farm Box this week

Pinch of Salt

Freshly Ground Black Pepper

3/4 Teaspoon Curry Powder (or more)

1/2 Teaspoon Garlic Powder (or more)

Olive Oil

Mozzarella Cheese (Optional)

Don’t be frightened by the list of ingredients! It may seem long, but you only have to prepare four of them. Once you’ve sliced the zucchini and green onions, heat the olive oil in a frying pan (I use nonstick, even though you don’t need oil, I like the flavors). Add the zucchini and green onions and cook until tender.

In a small bowl beat the eggs with the milk, salt, pepper, curry powder, garlic powder, and dill. When the vegetables are cooked, add the egg mixture. Because the pan is already very hot from the vegetables, the eggs will cook at an accelerated speed, so keep a watchful eye as you scramble them up. Once the eggs look done, turn off the heat and leave on the burner for a few seconds more. Transfer to your plate (or in my case, bowl that I eat EVERYTHING out of), and sprinkle the cheese on top. Let melt and then enjoy!

Love and Happy Spatulas,

Alyssa

Herb Tip: I just learned that when chopping herbs you have to make sure they are 100% dry before going at it. This prevents bruising (browning) of the greenery. Also you should always chop herbs at the very last second if possible, although I find Dill is not as big of a problem as other herbs.

Egg + Vegetable Tip: When you’re cooking eggs with vegetables, there is bound to be some liquid leftover after the eggs are cooked. You should drain this out from your eggs, unless you want a watery taste.

