I’m not always in the mood for a saucy pasta dish, so I thought I’d make an Italian sausage dish with vegetables and serve it over pasta. In Chinese cooking it’s best to have all of the ingredients the same shape and size – strips, cubes, etc., so I thought I would apply this same concept to my Italian dish. With little chunks of turkey sausage and zucchini in mind, I figured radiatori would make a nice pasta compliment. Sausage has a variety of spices, so this is an easy dish, but you can add garlic and/or onion to the recipe if you like.

8 oz. radiatori
4 tablespoons olive oil, divided
1 pound turkey Italian sausage
3-4 zucchini, sliced in medium coins
1/2 red pepper, chopped
1/4 cup basil leaves, chopped
salt and pepper
parmesan cheese, grated

Cook radiatori according to package directions in salted boiling water.

Remove the sausage from the casings and cook in a large pan with 2 tablespoons of heated olive oil. I used a cast iron skillet as I wanted the sausage to brown nicely.   Cook until sausage is done. Add in zucchini and red pepper. Add the additional 2 tablespoons of olive oil and stir well. Cook covered for 4-5 minutes until the squash and pepper are cooked. Add in basil leaves, reserving some for garnish. Salt and pepper to taste.

Drain pasta and serve into bowls. Spoon sausage mixture over pasta. Garnish with grated parmesan cheese and basil.

Happy Cooking!

Peggy

