I’ve never made meatloaf before. My brother and I never ate it as kids which always upset my mother since it’s almost exactly like meatballs which we ate without any complaints. I tried to find a recipe that worked for me, but I didn’t find anything so I made my own recipe. I’ve broken the ingredients up into three sections because there are three different processes you need to do before putting it all together.

Honey-Rosemary Glazed Meatloaf

1 Onion, small dice

2 Carrots, cut into thin half-moons

1 Shallot, even smaller dice

3 Cloves garlic, minced

1 Teaspoon salt

1/2 Teaspoon black pepper

1/4 Teaspoon crushed red pepper

1 1/2 Teaspoon paprika

1 Tablespoon brown sugar

2 Tablespoons Dry Cooking Sherry

Image

1 Pound ground beef

1 Pound ground turkey

1 Egg

2 Green onions, Sliced thinly (White + green parts)

1 Tablespoon mustard (I used grainy onion mustard)

A few hits of tabasco (Or a lot if you want it spicy)

2 Tablespoons Tomato Paste

1/2 Cup Panko breadcrumbs (Or regular breadcrumbs if you don’t have Panko)

2 Tablespoons Fresh Basil, Cut into ribbons

1 Tablespoon Fresh Rosemary, Minced

1/4 Cup honey

Image

Warm some olive oil in a frying pan on a medium-high heat. Add the onion and carrots and cook for 3 minutes before adding the shallots. Mix well and add the garlic in one minute later. When the vegetables are getting soft, add the salt, peppers and paprika, brown sugar and sherry. Cook until tender and fragrant, then remove from the heat and let cool.

Preheat oven to 350º.

In a mixing bowl, add the next set of ingredients (meat through basil). In a small bowl mix the rosemary and honey (I use raw honey for baking and cooking). When the onion mixture has cooled a bit, add it to the meat mixture and mix with your hands gently. Grease a baking sheet or casserole dish and shape the meat into a loaf with your hands on your choice of baking utensil.

Using your index finger, create a small well in the top center of the meatloaf. Drizzle the honey and rosemary glaze in the well and down the sides of the meat. Move the dish to the oven and cook for one hour or longer if the meat isn’t cooked through.

Image

Enjoy with a side of rice and vegetables or a salad. I think meatloaf is one of those dishes that tastes better as the days go on, so I let mine cool and refrigerated it overnight so I could enjoy it today.

Image

Love and Happy Spatulas,

Alyssa

