Believe it, or not, I only have one small serving of Shepherd’s pie left. I invited over a few guests and the whole thing just disappeared! I don’t think the same will be true of the Chicken Pot Pie because I’m making it now and it looks too good to share.

Chicken Pot Pie

Crust

1 1/4 cups all-purpose flour

1/4 tsp kosher salt

1/4 tsp dried thyme

1/4 tsp dried rosemary (minced)

For the crust:

Mix the flour, salt and herbs together, then add the butter and mix with your hands until the dough looks crumbly. Slowly add the ice-cold water and knead gently until the mixture becomes a dough. Wrap in plastic and refrigerate at least one hour or overnight. DO THIS FIRST! When you’re ready to use the dough, roll it out and cut into a round or rounds slightly larger than the circumference of your dish(es). I’m making smaller ones, so we’ll just see how many I can get out of this dough. A flat, clean surface and a bit of extra flour on the hands, rolling pin and counter make rolling out dough much easier.

If you would like to make a single pot pie this dough recipe may be enough for one upper crust and a lower crust depending on the size of your pot. It made me 8 crusts about 4 1/2 inches in diameter and enough left over for the bottom of a basic pie pan.

Filling

2 Tablespoons Butter

1 Onion, diced

2 Carrots, peeled and diced

3 Stalks celery, diced

1/2 cup flour

1 1/2 cups chicken stock

1 cup milk

1/4 cup dry sherry

2 Small ears of corn, de-cobbed, I used one yellow and one white, you can also use frozen corn

1 Generous cup frozen peas (fresh are harder to come by)

Salt and Pepper

1 Teaspoon fresh sage, minced

1 Whole roasted chicken, all meat taken off the bone, white and dark, cut into bite-sized cubes

2 egg whites  + water, beaten together to make an egg wash

Because I have hours until my dough is done, I like to measure out and prepare all of my other ingredients before I start cooking. It’s a few more dishes to wash, but it makes cooking go a lot faster when you don’t have to worry about measurements… and it looks gorgeous!

Melt the butter in a large pan, I used a wok as it’s the largest pan I own. Add the onions, carrots and celery and cook until wilted, about 10 minutes.

Then add the flour and mix about for a minute, making sure that the flour doesn’t burn. The pan will be very dry, so the next step is to add the liquids, the chicken broth and milk to be exact. Turn the heat to low and simmer until the sauce becomes thick and creamy. Then add the salt and pepper, sage, sherry, corn, peas and chicken. Mix well and bring up the heat to make sure the peas defrost and the corn cooks a little bit.

Remove from the heat and set aside while you prepare your ramekins and dough.

I’ve decided, that since I’m going to be eating many pies this month, to only put a top layer of crust on these pot pies, and not surround them. Although I’m sure it’s delicious when it’s full of buttery flaky goodness, I want to be more health-conscious and cut down on the crust (especially since there is also flour in the filling).

Portion out your filling among the ramekins, I only have eight so we’ll see how far I get.

Then cover each one with a round of pie crust. Crimp the sides with a fork and cut a few holes in the top. Since I’m doing this in honor of the illustrious Pi, I’ve decided (also by suggestion) to cut my holes in the shape of pi. You can also carve letters or numbers, anything you want, just don’t make the holes too big.

When you’ve done this, take the egg whites and milk mixture and paint it onto the top of the crust. This will help the crust turn a bit more golden in the oven. Place your ramekins in a tray (so it’s easier to get them in and out of the oven) and pop them into a 400º oven for 25 minutes, or until the crust is golden.

Remove and serve with a light salad or some steamed vegetables.

Love and Happy Spatulas!!

Alyssa

