When I briefly worked as a personal chef for the family I used to nanny for it was requested of me to make a quiche every week. The family is vegetarian (at least they are at home) and quiches are quick and easy, and full of protein and vegetables without the necessity of meat (also in this case cheese). Once the crust is made (and quiche crusts are not difficult at all) you just throw in some veggies and eggs and you’re good to go. I love being both artistic and experimental when it comes to quiches, because that’s how I approach them with a good attitude.

My mom really loves quiches because you can eat them for breakfast, lunch or dinner. I think that any food you can eat for all three meals is just fantastic, but I made this quiche for her upon my brief return to Los Angeles for spring break.

I had just received a beautiful bunch of asparagus in my farm box and I had some green beans with me so I went straight to work, and here is the result!

Asparagus and Green Bean Quiche

Crust:

1 Cup flour

1/2 Teaspoon salt

1/2 Teaspoon dried oregano

1/4 Cup olive oil

1/4 Cup water

Mix all of the ingredients in a bowl. This is a quick crust so you do not need to refrigerate it like you would normally with a quiche crust. It’s a bit bland, which is why I added the oregano.

Preheat the oven to 400º F and pre-bake the crust for 10 minutes. If the crust puffs up at all (because you didn’t use pie weights or dried beans and you don’t have to) just press it down with the back of a spoon.

Filling:

Handful of green beans

1/2 Bunch asparagus

6 Eggs (I used 4 real eggs and 1 egg beaters (=2 eggs))

Salt and Pepper

Any other herbs you desire

Clean the green beans and asparagus (by trimming both ends off the green beans and the woody end off the asparagus). Put both the asparagus and green beans into a pot of cold salted water and bring slowly to a boil. In a large mixing bowl, make a bath of ice water with a strainer inside. When the vegetables are just the brightest green and not yet tender, drain them and put them into the ice bath. This will shock them and they will maintain their beautiful green color even after baking, you’ll see!

Drain and dry the vegetables a bit (you don’t want too much water interfering with your quiche) and then lay them out in the pre-baked crust. If you don’t want to lay them out, you can cut them up into smaller pieces and then just chuck them into the crust.

Beat the eggs with some salt and pepper and a dash of milk or cream (if you’d like). You can also add cheese if you want it, but I figured we could skip on the cholesterol. Pour the egg mixture over the vegetables in the crust, and if you would like, add some more vegetables on top.

Bake in a 400º oven for 30 minutes or until eggs are fully cooked. Test the eggs in the center with a knife, if the knife comes out clean the eggs are cooked… just like a cake.

Serve with a garden salad, a chicken breast, some bacon (although I don’t eat bacon), or just by itself with a glass of champagne.

Love and Happy Spatulas,

Alyssa

